DreamPress Review, Is It Worth It in 2026?
AI erotic story generator with Novel, Erotica and Chat modes, a four-step setup wizard, safe-for-work covers, one token per chapter run and an Unlimited plan
Published · Data verified
DreamPress does the thing it promises. It writes explicit stories from a prompt on the free tier, with no refusal and no watering down, and it wraps a useful setup wizard around the job. The execution is rough. All three of my chapters opened with the same sentence, a correction was handled by relabeling instead of rewriting, a chapter took over ten minutes, and closing the tab threw away the text and kept the token. The paid side is cheap on the first charge and silent about every charge after it, and it's sold with countdowns that don't mean much; the pricing section has the numbers. Spend the free tokens to decide, and read the refund rule before you pay.
Try DreamPress FreeDreamPress at a Glance
- Type
- Story generator
- From
- $6/mo
- Free tier
- Yes
- Users
- 600k claimed (400k+ on the plan window)
| Output | Prose chapters. The shared test prompt returned 1,492 words by DreamPress's counter for an 800-word request, Length on Auto (Short, Medium, Long also offered). Images are safe-for-work only per the FAQ |
|---|---|
| Speed |
|
| Memory / context | Not disclosed |
| ID verification | Not required |
Score Breakdown
Three expert ratings, scored from a free account: what the free tier actually produced, plus the pricing and the terms. The paid tiers were not bought, so they are not scored from use: see what this review is based on. How we rate
Pros & Cons
What We Like
- Writes explicit stories on the free tier: the test prompt came back complete, consent included, with no refusal and no softening
- A four-step setup wizard builds the title, character sheets, a cover and two plot options before a single token is spent
- The chapter editor has a Length control, one-line continuation chips, a free-text 'What happens next?' box and a next-chapter button
- No card, phone or ID at signup, and the free account starts with 12 tokens
- Named UK operator with a Companies House record, and content rules written out in plain terms
- Boost packs let you buy tokens once instead of subscribing
What Could Be Better
- All three chapters I generated opened with the same sentence, and a correction turn recycled a line from earlier in the chapter
- Closing the page mid-generation loses the whole chapter and still spends the token
- Slow: the test chapter streamed for about seven minutes and showed 'Writing...' for about 13
- Neither the plan window nor the card step says what Unlimited renews at, and the same yearly charge carries two different per-month labels
- Pressure selling: a signup countdown, an upgrade email and a full-screen gift overlay with no close button until you reveal the discount
- Refunds only if you haven't used a single token of the subscription
- Chat mode writes a prose chapter instead of a conversation, and explicit images aren't allowed at all
- No crypto and no PayPal at checkout
What this review is based on
- Account used
- A free one, registered on 28 September 2026 with an email address and nothing else. I ran the shared test prompt twice (one run was lost, more on that below), ran Chat mode with a correction turn, and read the pricing, checkout and policy pages from inside the account.
- Checked directly
- Signup, the token counter and what moved it, the four-step setup wizard, the chapter editor, output length and timing, the correction turn, the Unlimited plan window, the boost packs, the gift overlay, the card form up to the point of paying, the terms, refund, privacy and content monitoring policies, the Companies House record and the Trustpilot profile.
- Not checked
- The Unlimited plan itself, story export, the separate image generator page, Audiobook mode by ear, cancellation and refund in practice, and the price either paid plan renews at.
- The paid tier
- Out of scope, and staying that way. We don't buy subscriptions to review them, so everything behind the paywall is described from DreamPress's own copy and never from use.
- So don't read this as
- A verdict on how DreamPress prose compares to another story generator on the same prompt, on whether Unlimited writes faster than the free tier, on whether free tokens refill after the first day, or on what either plan costs after its first charge. Three runs on one day describe this tool. They can't rank the field.
What Is DreamPress?
DreamPress is an AI story generator: you give it an idea, it builds characters and a plot, then it writes chapters you can steer. This DreamPress review comes from a free account and three runs through it, including the same explicit test prompt I'm putting through every story generator I test. Its own FAQ says the writer is "powered by GPT (Similar to the technology used in ChatGPT)" and that it "specialises in creating erotic stories".
The homepage box has three modes, Novel, Erotica and Chat, a "Generate a plot" button and an Audiobook mode toggle that's on by default. Below it runs a public feed of user stories, most tagged 18+, each with a "Remix this story" button.
It sits apart from most of what we cover. The tools in our AI porn generators ranking make pictures and clips. DreamPress makes text, and its image generator is limited to safe-for-work illustrations: the FAQ answers "Can I create NSFW images?" with "Unfortunately for now this is not allowed."
A "v3 Beta" invite also popped up over the plan window on the homepage, describing a version "rebuilt from the ground up with new models". What I tested may not be what you get in a few months.
Getting Started
Signup is an email, a password and the password again. It doesn't ask for a card, a phone number or ID. A line under the form says "You must be over 18 years old", and that's the whole age check.
A confirmation email arrives from admin@dreampress.ai, but the account works before you click it: the token balance shows and the generator runs. The same email already pushes the paid plan; the pricing section has the rest of the selling.
First snag: the first story run stops on a "Choose your username" screen with five random suggestions (mine included ceremoniousgolf and wishfulease), and nothing generates until you pick one.
Then the balance. The header counter showed 12 tokens right after signup. The FAQ says "On our free plan you can get up to 7 tokens on signup". Five extra is the pleasant kind of mismatch, but it shows the help pages and the product have drifted apart.
What the tokens don't do is come back. Nothing in the account or the FAQ mentions a daily or weekly refill. The FAQ's routes to more free tokens are codes "given out on our discord channel every Monday" and a rewards page that pays for social media videos about DreamPress: 10+ likes gets 100 tokens, 50+ a free month, 100+ a free year. On the free tier you have a one-off budget of about a dozen runs, and you spend it as you go.
DreamPress Features I Tested
- Image generationYes
- Custom charactersYes
- AI chat and sextingNo
- Video generationNo
- Voice messagesNo
- Roleplay scenariosNo
- Memory systemNo
- Fully uncensoredNo
- Face swapNo
A tick means the platform offers the feature. Some were exercised on a free account and some sit behind the paywall: what this review is based on says which is which.
Whatever you type into the homepage box, DreamPress doesn't write straight away. It walks you through a setup wizard first, and none of the wizard's steps touched my token count.
Step one: a title
The wizard opens with a title it picked itself. For a prompt about two neighbors in a power cut it offered "The Shadow of the Ring", which has nothing to do with anything I wrote. There's a Regenerate button, and you'll want it.
Step two: character sheets
It pulled Maya and Daniel out of my prompt correctly and then wrote them long backstories I hadn't asked for. Maya became a graphic designer, Daniel a history teacher, recently divorced. You can edit the sheets or import characters here. If you don't, the inventions flow into the story: Daniel's divorce turned up in the chapter, and the chapter added an ex for Maya, Eric, on top.
Step three: a cover
A cover generator writes its own image prompt from the story and offers 15 styles, from Custom, Roma and Ginza through to Mochi, Rio, Trip and Ray. Mine came out illustrated and non-explicit.
Step four: the plot
Two chapter options with location fields ("Wine and Blackout" and "The Candle and the Confession" in my case), a button for more options, and four settings: Style, World, Explicit and Voice. I kept the first option. Then comes a screen that says "DON'T CLOSE THIS PAGE" while the chapter is written. Take that literally; the output section explains why.
The chapter editor
After the wizard you land in a chapter view. Under the text sit a "What happens next?" box, a Length setting (Short, Medium, Long or Auto), a speaker button, a sliders button and Generate. Continuation chips offer one-line nudges: "His hand touches hers.", "She leans in closer.", "Clothes hit the floor." and "More". A "Go to next chapter" button starts chapter two. A settings panel adds Notes, Synopsis and Location fields and a live word count.
Each press of Generate in this editor costs one token, which matches the FAQ's "Each run of the generator on DreamPress uses 1 token".
Chat mode writes a chapter too
The Chat tab looks like it should give you a back-and-forth conversation. I gave it a two-line setup (Daniel, a balcony, a blackout, flirty) and it ran the same wizard: a title ("Heat Wave"), character sheets for Daniel and "The Narrator", a cover, two plot options. What came out was a prose chapter of about 1,700 words in first person, with nothing for me to reply to. If trading messages with a character is what you're after, our AI porn chat ranking covers the companion apps built for it.
Audiobook mode and images
Audiobook mode is on by default, and the speaker button in the composer toggles it. In my headless browser session no audio played, no audio file was requested and there's no audio download, so I can't tell you what it sounds like.
The image side lives on a separate Images page, which I didn't test. Per the FAQ it runs on technology "similar to DALL-E" and NSFW images aren't allowed. The Unlimited plan lists 2000 images/mo, which under that rule means covers and safe illustrations.
DreamPress Review: Output From the Shared Test Prompt
The test prompt, pasted verbatim into "What happens next?" in Erotica mode after the wizard: "Write an explicit erotic story, around 800 words. Two adults: Maya, 34, and her neighbor Daniel, 38. A summer power outage leaves them sharing a bottle of wine on her balcony. Slow build, clear mutual consent, and a graphic sex scene in the second half. First person, from Maya's point of view."
What came back was a full chapter of about 1,500 words (DreamPress's own counter said 1,492) with Length on Auto. Nearly double what I asked for. There was no refusal and no softening: a slow first half on the balcony, an explicit second half, first person, Maya's voice throughout. It wrote consent in on its own, more than once, down to Daniel asking about a condom.
The prose reads like competent mass-market romance. The moment the build turns, quoted as it came:
I didn't pull away.
His palm cupped my cheek. His thumb traced the line of my jaw, gentle and deliberate, and I closed my eyes because if I didn't, I might have cried.
"Tell me what you want," he said.
It's readable and it hits every beat of the prompt. It also leans hard on the long dash, 17 of them in one chapter, the kind of tic you'd be editing out if you published anything. And the backstory the wizard invented seeps into the dialogue, so you get lines about a divorce and a breakup you never set up.
Speed was the weak spot. Text streamed for about seven minutes before it stopped growing, and the "Writing..." indicator stayed up until roughly the 13-minute mark. The homepage promises "FROM IDEA TO STORY IN JUST 2 MINUTES".
The same first sentence, three times
All three chapters I got opened with the same sentence, "The heat had teeth.", and that bothered me more than anything else in the test. The three are the lost first attempt, the full test run and the Chat mode story, which started from a different setup. Trustpilot reviewers complain about recycled sentences too (see What Users Say), and on my small sample they have a point.
The correction test
In the Chat mode story, the model had put us on Daniel's balcony, pouring a dark wine. I sent a correction: we're on my balcony, the wine is white, keep those facts from now on and continue.
It half listened. The continuation relabeled things in the narration ("My balcony, my candles, my jasmine plant"), while the chapter above it still has Daniel inviting Maya over to his balcony and lighting the candles himself. Nothing squares the two. The wine turned white in the narration and got a line of dialogue to explain it: "You brought white wine?" / "I grabbed the first bottle I saw. Didn't check the label." And a sentence came back almost word for word from earlier in the same chapter: "A car passed below, its headlights sweeping across the balcony, across his face, across the space between us that felt smaller than it had a minute ago." The first time round it ended "a moment ago".
Don't close the tab
My first attempt at the test prompt reached about 1,300 words in seven and a half minutes. The page was closed while "Writing..." was still showing, and on reload the chapter came back empty. The counter had already gone from 12 to 11 tokens. The correction turn went the same way: closed before the stream finished, nothing saved on reload, token spent. Two lost runs, two tokens gone, out of a free budget of 12.
The warning is on screen, so nobody hid it from you. Still, a generator that takes the token at the start and keeps nothing if the tab closes is a poor fit for a job that runs past ten minutes.
DreamPress Cost: Pricing, Tokens and What It Renews At
| Plan | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Free | Free | 12 tokens granted once at signup (the FAQ says 7), one token per chapter run, no refill shown in the account. Free token codes on Discord on Mondays. Safe-for-work images only. Stories can be reposted elsewhere with a 'Created on DreamPress.AI' credit; no export |
| Unlimited Monthly | $14.39 per month | Unlimited tokens, 2000 images/mo, story export, ownership of your stories. List $19.99, shown at $14.39 in the signup offer and again after its countdown ran out. Renewal price not stated anywhere |
| Unlimited Yearly | $6 per month | Same as monthly, billed $72 for the first year against a $120 list. Labelled $7/mo in the plan window and $6/mo in the gift overlay; $72 over 12 months is $6. Renewal price not stated anywhere |
Cost per Generation
Based on a 100-token boost pack at $9.99:
DreamPress sells one plan, Unlimited, plus one-off token packs it calls boosts. There's no public pricing page: prices render only inside a logged-in account, behind the "Get more tokens" button. I read them there on 28 September 2026, within the first hour after signup.
The Unlimited window lists unlimited tokens, "No waiting times", 2000 images/mo, "Export and own your stories" and "Easily cancel anytime". Here's every way to pay for it, as the window showed it:
| Cycle | Per month | Per charge | First year | What you get |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | none | $0 | tokens granted once at signup, one per chapter run, no refill shown |
| Unlimited monthly | $14.39 (list $19.99) | $14.39 | $172.68 if $14.39 holds, $239.88 at list | unlimited tokens, 2000 images/mo, export |
| Unlimited yearly | $6 (list $10) | $72 | $72 | same as monthly |
Nothing tells you what happens at renewal. Neither the plan window nor the card step says whether $14.39 or $72 is a first-period price, and nothing names the next charge. The terms confirm you'll be "automatically charged every month or year" until you cancel. So the first-year column is the best case for monthly, and for yearly I can only vouch for the first charge. If it renews at the $120 list, that's your second year.
The window's own yearly maths is odd too. It shows a "Yearly discount" of -$52.68 and a "Sign up special offer" of -$48.00. The first is measured against twelve months at the already discounted $14.39 ($172.68 minus $52.68 is $120), and the second takes $120 down to $72.
Then the label. The plan window calls the $72 yearly charge "$7/mo". The gift overlay on the story page calls the same $72 "$6/mo". Twelve months into $72 is $6. Two labels for one charge on the same day doesn't fill me with confidence about the rest of the checkout.
The countdowns
The selling starts the moment you sign up. A banner across the top of every page offers "Up to 50% off unlimited usage" with a 24-minute countdown, and the confirmation email says to upgrade "within the first hour for up to 50% off". When the countdown ran out, a full-screen overlay took over the story page on every load: "You unlocked a special one time gift", "SURPRISE SALE", "LOWEST EVER PRICE", and a second countdown already sitting at 00d:00h:00m:00s under "HURRY UP UNTILL IT'S TOO LATE". There's no close button until you press "Click to reveal your discount"; only then does an X appear. And the monthly price on that overlay was still $14.39, the same discount the first countdown had been counting down on.
Boosts and what a token buys
If you'd rather not subscribe, boosts are one-off token packs. The price shows on the card form after you pick a pack:
| Pack | Price | Per token |
|---|---|---|
| 100 tokens | $9.99 | about 10 cents |
| 500 tokens | $39.99 | about 8 cents |
| 5,000 tokens | $189.99 | about 3.8 cents |
And here's what spends them, from watching the counter the whole time:
| Operation | Cost | How I know |
|---|---|---|
| Setup wizard: title, character sheets, cover, two plot options | 0 tokens | counter didn't move |
| The wizard's own first chapter (Chat mode) | 0 tokens | counter the same before and after, one data point |
| Generate in the chapter editor | 1 token | measured on three presses; the FAQ says the same |
| A run lost to a closed tab | 1 token | measured twice, nothing saved |
| Images page, cover regeneration, audiobook audio | not known | not tested |
At one token per run, the 100-pack buys about 100 chapter runs for $9.99, roughly 150,000 words if they come out the length of my test chapter. The meter bites on waste: every run you throw away, including the ones lost to a closed tab, costs the same token as a keeper.
Paying, cancelling, refunds
Checkout is a card popup from Finby, an EU payment processor. It showed Visa and Mastercard, plus buttons for Apple Pay, Google Pay and Visa Click to Pay. No crypto and no PayPal button, although the privacy notice still says "All payment data is stored by PayPal". I stopped at the card form, so I can't tell you what the charge looks like on a statement.
Cancelling, per the terms and the FAQ, goes through the "Manage account" button in the bottom left corner of your library page, or through Apple ID settings if you subscribed on iOS. Access runs to the end of the paid period. If you came in through RiotModels, you cancel there; DreamPress says it can't do it from its side. I didn't subscribe, so I haven't walked this myself.
The refund rule is the one to read before paying. DREAMPRESS LTD cites the UK Consumer Contract Regulations and offers a refund within 14 days of purchase, but only if you "have not used any of the tokens you are given". Generate one chapter and the right is gone. That makes the refund a cooling-off window for people who never open the editor, and the free tokens the only trial you get.
Is DreamPress Worth the Money?
On the first charge, Unlimited is inexpensive for a tool that writes a long chapter per click. The trouble is around the number. No screen says what the plan renews at, one charge wears two labels, the countdowns keep the same discount alive after they hit zero, and the refund disappears the moment you generate anything. The free tokens are the only real trial, so use them all before deciding, and if you do subscribe, set a reminder before the first renewal date.
Privacy and Safety
DreamPress is run by DREAMPRESS LTD, company number 14591818 at Companies House, active, incorporated on 13 January 2023. The domain is older, registered in August 2021, and the policies page gives 31 August 2021 as its creation date. The addresses don't match: the policies give 29 Waterloo Rd, Wolverhampton WV1 4DJ, while Companies House lists Suite Ga, St. George's House, Lever Street, Wolverhampton WV2 1EZ. Both are in Wolverhampton, so I'd call it untidy more than alarming.
The privacy notice, last updated June 29th, 2023, puts the servers in the United States. In its section for Virginia residents it also says: "DREAMPRESS LTD sells personal data to third parties or processes personal data for targeted advertising." It's one sentence in a long notice, and I'd want to know about it before typing my fantasies into the box.
Your stories are less private than the FAQ's answer to "Who can see my stories?" ("Only you unless you have posted them") suggests. The content monitoring policy, updated July 25, 2025, says the company may "monitor, screen, block, post, remove, modify, store, and review any content or communications" at any time and for any reason, using automated screening plus "Manual reviews conducted by our staff members". The terms also reserve the right to train future models on content generated on the platform; the FAQ words it as the stories "that you keep on the site".
Ownership depends on the plan. Unlimited members own their stories. Free users may repost theirs elsewhere with a "Created on DreamPress.AI" credit. Anything you post publicly on DreamPress can be remixed by any other user. Export to a text file is an Unlimited feature.
The content rules are spelled out: every character 18 or over, no age play, no non-consent including consensual non-consent, no incest, no bestiality, no real celebrities "sexual or not", with UK law as the reference. Account deletion sits under Manage account, takes 2-3 business days and can't be undone. What's missing is any age check beyond that line of text under the signup form, and any statement of what the card descriptor says.
DreamPress vs Alternatives
DreamPress writes the story for you from a prompt. The closest tools I've reviewed come at stories from the companion side, where you play a scene with a character, and our companion rankings cover that side properly. Two dedicated story writers I haven't reviewed yet are here for context, with prices captured from Spain on 28 September 2026.
- Writes chapters from a prompt, Novel, Erotica or Chat mode
- Setup wizard: title, characters, cover, plot options
- Free tier: one-off token grant, one token per chapter run
- Unlimited plan, safe-for-work images only
- Live Action: interactive video sessions with a character
- Chat, images, video and voice with 180+ characters
- From $5.99/mo on the yearly plan
- Bitcoin accepted
- Fantasy builder: one scenario, up to 10 companions
- 64K context and long-term memory on Ultimate
- Premium from $5/mo, billed $59.99 a year
- Bitcoin accepted
- Story generator, formerly Lustix
- Free tier; NSFW only on paid plans
- Starter $5/mo list, $4 the first month
- Review coming soon
- Story generator with a free tier
- Premium $18.99/mo or $99/yr
- Review coming soon
All scores come from our expert rating system, combining Quality, Value and Trust into one overall rating.
Against Candy AI and Nectar, DreamPress is the one that writes a whole chapter from your prompt; both of those put you inside a scene with a character, Candy AI through its Live Action video sessions and Nectar through fantasy scenarios that can hold up to ten companions. Both score higher on our scale and both take Bitcoin, which DreamPress doesn't. Against DeepFiction and NovelX, which I haven't reviewed yet, the clearest difference I can state is that DreamPress writes explicit text on its free tier, while DeepFiction keeps NSFW behind its paid plans.
What Users Say
Reddit wouldn't load for me, so all I have from there is what search results show. There are threads about it, like "Has anyone used DreamPressAI for smut?" in r/WritingWithAI, but I couldn't read the replies, so I won't put words in anyone's mouth.
Trustpilot has more. The DreamPress homepage says "Rated over 4.5 stars on Trustpilot". The Trustpilot profile on 28 September 2026 showed 3.3 out of 5 from 56 reviews, with 3 reviews in the last 12 months and a note that the company "Hasn't replied to negative reviews".
The complaints line up with what I saw. A two-star review from February 2025: "Why does it keep reusing sentences? ... And it forgets details about characters, what location it's in". A one-star review from January 2026 says a "Smart Filter" introduced on October 17, 2025 made the platform "overly restrictive". Billing complaints exist too. One reviewer writes "They refused to cancel my account after trying it out for one day", another describes "an extra 20$ every month" on their card. Those are single accounts I can't verify, and they're about exactly the parts I couldn't test.
The older reviews are warmer. A run of four- and five-star reviews from August 2023 praises the storytelling, and two of them mention daily generations ("you do get them daily", "Every day you only get 6/8 generations"). I saw no refill on my account on day one. Whether that's changed or I simply didn't wait long enough, I can't say.
Who Should Use DreamPress?
Best for: people who want explicit stories written for them and don't want to hold up their end of a conversation. The free tier writes real explicit text within its rules, and a dozen chapter runs is enough to decide. If free is your priority across the board, our free AI porn sites page covers the image and chat side of that question.
Skip it if you want to chat with a character (Chat mode writes prose), you want explicit images (not allowed), or you need to pay with crypto or PayPal (neither was offered at checkout). Skip the paid plan if you won't pay without knowing the renewal price, or if you tend to close browser tabs mid-task, because every lost run is a spent token.
FAQ
Is DreamPress free?
Yes, there's a free account that needs only an email and a password. Mine started with 12 tokens, one token buys one chapter run in the editor, and the setup wizard costs nothing. I saw no refill; free codes are posted on the DreamPress Discord on Mondays.
How do DreamPress tokens work?
Each press of Generate in the chapter editor costs one token, whether you keep the result or not. Unlimited removes the meter, and boost packs sell tokens one-off, starting at 100 for $9.99.
How much does DreamPress cost?
Within the first hour after signup, Unlimited showed at $14.39 a month or $72 for a year. Neither screen says what it renews at; the full table and the label problem are in the pricing section.
Can DreamPress write explicit stories and images?
Stories, yes: Erotica mode wrote the explicit test prompt in full with no refusal. The rules still ban non-consent, including consensual non-consent, incest, age play and real celebrities. Images, no: the FAQ says NSFW images aren't allowed.
Is DreamPress Chat mode a chatbot?
No. My Chat mode run went through the same wizard and returned a prose chapter in first person. There were no turns to reply to.
Why did my DreamPress story disappear?
If the page closes before generation finishes, the chapter comes back empty on reload, and the token is already spent. It happened to me twice. Leave the tab open until "Writing..." goes away.
Is DreamPress safe?
It's run by a real UK company, DREAMPRESS LTD, with a Companies House record, and signup needs no ID. The privacy trade-offs are real: staff may review any content, stories kept on the site can train its models, servers are in the US, and the privacy notice says it sells personal data or uses it for targeted advertising.
How do I cancel DreamPress and get a refund?
Cancel from the Manage account button on your library page, or through Apple ID if you subscribed on iOS. A refund is possible within 14 days of purchase, but only if you haven't used any tokens of the subscription.
Similar Tools We Reviewed
Not sure an AI girlfriend is what you want? Read AI companions vs live cam models.
Ready to Try DreamPress?
Email and password, no card, no phone, no ID. 12 tokens granted once at signup, one token per chapter run in the editor; the setup wizard costs nothing. No refill shown in the account; free codes are posted on Discord on Mondays
Visit DreamPress


